flashes

My face was wet with streams of joy.
Your voice was small and raspy.
I studied you with blurry eyes.
I can’t remember breathing.
You laid there on your mommy’s chest
like you’d been there forever.
So surreal. So serene.
Slippery and naked.
You were a new creation.
My heart screamed my love for you.
My voice whispered the same.
I held you tight. I kissed your face;
Your arms and legs and body, too.
You were mysterious and wonderful.
Like fire, I couldn’t look away.

#7in7

Leave a Reply

