Sanctification and Our Brains – Part 2

Click here for Part 1

I have a color deficiency. It’s a very slight deficiency. For example: Mary Kay cars. Those super light pink Mary Kay cars. When I look at them I only see white. They’re white to me, but I can tell you that they are pink, although I have no ability within myself to know that those cars are pink. However, I trust the people that tell me they are. I KNOW it to be truth. But it goes further than that. I trust the optometrist when I’m told that my eyes are “deficient”. I trust that those little cards with colored dots have numbers in them, and that they are trustworthy tests. I don’t intrinsically know these things about my eyes because my eyes (my brain) are flawed. I can see some of my flaws, but not this one. I would NEVER know I had this flaw without an outside source informing me. I know these things about my eyes because I trust what people tell me above what I see and experience myself.

And so it is with our sanctification. Specifically the sanctification of our minds. To love God with all of our minds begins with admitting that our minds are flawed. That even the most basic logic (or what we believe to be logic) may be tainted. The evidence that our minds are being sanctified is that we are able to believe the bible above our brains. Do you ever find yourself struggling to believe the bible because you see apparent contradictions? Believe the words of the bible – not your understanding of it.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD, and turn away from evil. It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones.
Proverbs 3:5-8 ESV

Is it more loving to say yes to your child when they ask for a cookie or to say no?

Is it more graceful when you accept someone as they are, or when you rebuke them and hold them to a higher standard?

Is there more joy in comfort or in suffering?

Is love a feeling or an action?

The words of the bible read through the power of the Holy Spirit gives us the ability to see beyond the surface. We can understand deeper truth. We know that a parent is loving when they restrain their screaming child. From the point of view of the child it seems unfair. The grasp hurts as they try to pull away. Why does mom keep saying no when she knows they want to run? But the mom sees from a higher point of view. The mom sees the car coming.

We have a Father who sees all things. We can’t fully see what He sees or know what He knows, but we CAN trust that He does see, and that He does know. That’s what is asked of us in loving Him with all our minds – not that we know everything, but that we submit our flawed understanding to His perfect word.

However, the bible is truth. God has made truth accessible through His written word.

Is it humble to say we can never really know anything? Is it humble to say everything is a mystery? To say that nothing is black and white? Is it arrogant to be confident in our theology? Is it arrogant to denounce something as false?

I want to discuss those questions in Part 3.

Leave a Reply

